Movie Review!!!


image

Black or White (2014)

First off, I didn’t want to see this movie. It just seemed like a boring drama. I do enjoy dramas, but I normally enjoy other genres of movies more (science fiction, action-adventure, etc.). Like The Imitation Game starring Benedict Cumberbatch (which isn’t really sci-fi or exactly action-adventure – but come on, it’s Benedict!). I really really really want to see that for multiple reasons, but mainly because it’s Benedict Cumberbatch. He’s a fantastic actor and I eventually want to see everything he’s been in. And if you haven’t seen Sherlock, shame on you. Go binge watch it on Netflix RIGHT NOW.

And…back to the actual movie review. I tend to get sidetracked, as you might tell 😉

Black or White stars Kevin Costner as a Caucasian (obviously I’m not being racist, it’s just a major theme of the movie) grandfather – yeah, he’s that old now – who’s wife just died. His granddaughter, Eloise (played by Jillian Estell), is half African-American.

It’s honestly rather slow in the beginning, since it’s less plot driven and more just like following around Costner’s character as he drinks a lot because of his wife’s death. He’s currently the guardian of Eloise.

The back and forth between him and Eloise is really good (and cute). They have little bits of dialogue here and there, and it takes a while to get the whole picture of what’s going on in their lives.

Soon you find out that Eloise’s African-American grandmother (played by Octavia Spencer) wants custody of her, and Costner’s character doesn’t want to let her go. More unfolds and you discover the history of Eloise’s parents…

I guess I’m not going to spoil it for you 😉

But I think you’d like it, especially if you even slightly enjoy dramas. The movie is fairly slow at the beginning, but later on we get to be in a courtroom and is rather interesting once the characters are developed. All the characters – and I mean literally ALL – are dynamic and round; they all change or have a realization of their wrongs by the end. It really is good.

Last thing… one of my favorite parts of the movie is the underlying theme of racism. It feels like the screenwriter and director (which I think was the same person but I really don’t want to look it up right now) were trying to make that as real as possible. I don’t want to spoil anything, but the final word about racism in a later courtroom scene really is great. It’s my favorite part.

Well, I hope you enjoyed my movie review. I’ll probably do a book – or comic book review 😉 next. I may see Maleficent (gosh I really hope I spelled that right) this weekend so maybe I’ll so a review on that. I hope it’s better than I’ve heard :/

Have a great day!

Standard

Leave a Reply

