Ooh I’m a Terrible Person


It’s been a few days. Sorry. And guess what? I didn’t watch Maleficient. Guess what I watched on Valentine’s Day? I watched the original Die Hard.

And to be honest, it wasn’t that great (SORRY FANS OF THE MOVIE). I can understand that it was a major turning point for action movies, but it is plotless and characterless. Well, not really. But the plot is really not that great (or it isn’t pressed upon that well, I feel), and the characters just kind of do exactly what you expect. No drama, no twists, no reasons for anything. No feeling of justice at the end, either. Because they’re not even real terrorists. Heh 😀 Spoilers!

Don’t get me wrong, Bruce Willis is a fantastic actor and his movies rock. I’ve seen The Fifth Element, Twelve Monkeys, Armageddon, (sadly, not The Sixth Sense yet), etc. Actually that’s about all, I think. But sorry, Die Hard wasn’t that great. I mean, now I can say I’ve seen it. But I probably wouldn’t watch it again. It’s understandable, I guess, for people back in 1988 (the year it came out) to think it was great because it was a major turning point in action cinema. Now it’s just an okay movie with young Bruce Willis and young Alan Rickman. Oh right, Alan Rickman. He was fantastic in Die Hard. I loved being able to watch him without immediately thinking of him as Professor Snape from the Harry Potter series. Most of the time I can’t help but think “Snape” every time I see him, but in Die Hard he was young enough and different enough to keep that thought from really taking place.

So, if you really like Die Hard, I don’t mind. But I’d probably not be a great movie-buddy 😉

I also watched Mr. Peabody and Sherman with my sister yesterday, and that movie was actually about three times better than I expected. Honest. But I’ll talk about that later, I’ve gotta go.

Have a fantastic day!

Standard

Leave a Reply

